Irish Airs For Solo Cello

This product is in book in hard copy. This version will be delivered by post.

You can buy the downloadable version HERE

10 traditional Irish airs arranged especially for solo cello.  The Book includes  a CD of all the Airs recorded by Ilse de Ziah.


1. Carrickfergus

2. Buachaill ó’n Éirne (Boy from Ireland)

3. Aisling An Oig-fhir (Young Man’s Dream)

4. Amhran na Leabhar (Song of the Books)

5. Fanny Power – O’Carolan

6. Cape Clear

7. Down by the Sally Gardens

8. Eamonn a’ Chnuic (Ned of the Hill)

9. A Stor mo chroi (Treasure of my Heart)

10. Inch Strand – Ilse de Ziah


This book has been inspired by my time living in Ireland and being involved with Irish music and musicians. I have arranged these airs to be a technical challenge as well as a journey through the rich heritage of Irish music.

This is a tool to help you unlock the beauty of Irish airs as played on the cello. It is also excellent for technical development. The left hand pizzicato, false harmonics and octaves of Buachaill ó’n Éirne, the double stops of Sally Gardens, the purity of Amhrán na Leabhar will help you develop your technical ability, especially intonation, in an enjoyable and satisfying way. These different techniques ensure that the melody is supported by an accompaniment despite it being played on only one instrument, thus adding body and colour. However, always make sure the melody comes through clearly.

These written versions are one possibility amongst many. You can use them as a basis for your own arrangements an improvisations.

The video is as from the book- Amhran na Leabhar (Song of the Books)


2 Product Reviews

EDA DAVIES October 18, 2017 at 09:32

Dear İlse
I have tried to buy a book from your site but unfortunatly there is no shipping available to Turkey, I dont know how to get one if you help me about this ı would appreciated a lot
Thank you very much
Love from Turkey


Ilse January 31, 2018 at 08:05

If you buy the book I will ship it anywhere!


Write a Review